Skip to content


UCC was established in 1991 as the representative voice for state legislative advocacy for California’s high-population counties. Initially composed of seven counties, the association has grown to 14 today. The UCC Board of Directors is made up of one elected supervisor from each member county. Over 80 percent of the state’s population reside in UCC counties. Consequently, urban counties carry out critical programs and services to the state’s most vulnerable populations.

Board of Directors

  • Susan Ellenberg

    Chair, Santa Clara County

  • Ernest “Buddy” Mendes

    Vice Chair, Fresno County

  • Keith Carson

    Alameda County

  • Federal Glover

    Contra Costa County

  • Kathryn Barger

    Los Angeles County

  • Lisa Bartlett

    Orange County

  • V. Manuel Perez

    Riverside County

  • Sue Frost

    Sacramento County

  • Curt Hagman

    San Bernardino County

  • Nora Vargas

    San Diego County

  • Vacant

    San Francisco County

  • Tom Patti

    San Joaquin County

  • Carole Groom

    San Mateo County

  • Kelly Long

    Ventura County

UCC Staff and Advocacy Team

  • Grace Ferguson

    Association Administrator
    Urban Counties of California

  • Jean Kinney Hurst

    UCC Advocacy Team
    Hurst Brooks Espinosa

  • Elizabeth Howard Espinosa

    UCC Advocacy Team
    Hurst Brooks Espinosa

  • Kelly Brooks-Lindsey

    UCC Advocacy Team
    Hurst Brooks Espinosa

  • Joseph L. Lang

    UCC Advocacy Team
    Lang, Hansen, Giroux & Kidane

  • Bob Giroux

    UCC Advocacy Team
    Lang, Hansen, Giroux & Kidane

Association Policies and Procedures

UCC’s foundational policy platform, which guides its legislative and budget advocacy, and its by-laws are provided here. Revisions to the by-laws to reflect recent organizational changes are expected in 2020.